Our Board

2019 Fall Board Attendee Photo
Seated L-R – McKinney, Coakley, Fisher, Lyon, Arp, Wilkinson
Standing L-R – Jacobson, Karow, Kvidt, Bailey, Macnab, Hessel, Bond (forward), Weiser, Levi, Elbert, Davis, Nash, Sorem, Vavra, Fisher, Zhu

Today's Foundation directors and officers, like the founders of the organization, are volunteers. Chosen to represent the diverse segments of the state's agricultural industry, they give generously of their time and expertise in setting policy and monitoring research results from Foundation projects. The directors meet twice each year to review policies, analyze Foundation activities, and plan programs for the next year.


  President - Ralph Fisher, Sublimity, Grass Seed
Vice President - Lance Lyon, Aurora, Nursery Industry
Vice President - Ron Hathaway, Klamath Falls, Professor Emeritus, Extension-Animal Science, OSU
  Treasurer/Secretary - Chelle Davis, Albany, Banking
  Appointed Secretary - Charlene Wilkinson, ARF


  Robert Bailey, The Dalles, Tree Fruits
  David Beck, Amity, Wine Industry
  Barbara Bond, Amity, Forest Research
Stella Coakley, Corvallis, Associate Dean Emeritus, College of Agricultural Sciences, OSU
  Tim Elbert, Central Point, Retail Nursery and Garden Center
  Mike Hessel, Shedd, Fresh Market Vegetables and Melons
  Kaety Jacobson, Newport, Fishing Industry and Lincoln Co. Commissioner
  Tami Kerr, Corvallis, Dairy Industry
  Josh Kvidt, Philomath, Banking
  Elizabeth Levi, Portland, Attorney
  Mike Macnab, Portland, Retired Nonprofit Fund Raising Executive
  Pat Malone, Philomath, Christmas Trees and Benton Co. Commissioner
  Jean McKinney, Wasco, Wheat Rancher
  Bryan Ostlund, Salem, Commodity Commissions
Todd Nash, Enterprise, Cattle Industry
  Shelly Sorem, Corvallis, CPA
  Ed Stastny, Jr., Malin, Crops
Marty Vavra, LaGrande, Professor Emeritus, Rangleland Science, OSU
C.J. (Bud) Weiser, Corvallis, Emeritus Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences, OSU



  • Alan Sams, Corvallis, Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences
  • Staci Simonich, Corvallis, Exec. Associate Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences
  • F. King Alexander, Corvallis, President, Oregon State University


  • Josh Kvidt, Executive Director
  • Ying Wang, Controller
  • Charlene Wilkinson, Office Manager


  • Lane Borg, Portland
  • Ellen Egan, Salem
  • Larry Kaseberg, Wasco
  • Ken Messerle, Coos Bay
  • Sam Wade, Lostine


  • Roy Arnold, Corvallis, CAS Dean Emeritus
  • Roger Detering, Harrisburg, Tree Fruits
  • Phillip J. Walker, Salem, Hazelnuts and Cherries
For more information about the Ag Research Foundation, contact:
Josh Kvidt
Executive Director
Agricultural Research Foundation
Oregon State University
1600 SW Western Blvd., Suite 320
Corvallis, Oregon 97333
Phone (541)737-4066

ARF Board Member Honor Roll

Board Committees

Audit Committee - Chelle Davis, Ralph Fisher, Josh Kvidt (chair), Shelly Sorem, Tim Ebert

Competitive Grants Committee - Bob Bailey, David Beck, Barbara Bond, Stella Coakley, Tim Elbert, Ralph Fisher, Ron Hathaway, Mike Hessel (chair), Josh Kvidt, Elizabeth Levi, Lance Lyon, Jean McKinney, Todd Nash, Bryan Ostlund, Ed Stastny, Marty Vavra

Executive Committee - Chelle Davis, Ralph Fisher (chair), Ron Hathaway, Elizabeth Levi, Lance Lyon, Bud Weiser

Finance Committee – Chelle Davis, Ralph Fisher, Ron Hathaway (chair), Russ Karow, Lance Lyon, Mike Macnab, Pat Malone, Marty Vavra Marty Kaye (Investment Officer)

Nominations – Stella Coakley (Chair), Ralph Fisher, Tami Kerr, Jean McKinney, Bud Weiser

Personnel – Chelle Davis, Ralph Fisher, Elizabeth Levi, Lance Lyon (chair), Bud Weiser